The Bedside Table

There were many reasons I was dissatisfied with my bedside table.  First, its colour: orange.

IMG_0158

 

Not even a subtle orange.  Second, it has no drawer.  I must either leave my book on the top (which would be fine if I could constrain myself to two books) or I must reach down awkwardly while on the edge of sleep and open the door and throw the book onto the half-shelf within (or as you can see in the photo, simply throw them on the floor).  Third, with a square base and a monolithic stature it has a utilitarian oomph which is not to my liking.

Fortunately, my taste in furniture tends towards peasant rather than palace. When I last persuaded K-man to visit the local junk emporium, we came across this:

DSC_1012

 

This is the most poorly-made piece of furniture  I have ever encountered, and that includes Swedish flat-pack specials I incompetently put together myself. It seems to be made predominantly from waste wood by a person who hated their job. In places where surely – surely – a nail would have been better, glue has been used and did not stick properly.  Someone made a bad decision to try polishing this turd, and attached a piece of spare dowelling rod to the outside.

DSC_1014

 

This little cupboard was very cheap, and I have vision. And my vision couldn’t withstand more morning orange.

Yesterday the sun shone, and in our house that means embarking on a stupid project outside using power tools.  Hurrah!

K-man had to shore up the flimsy construction, and wrench off the stupid dowelling. Then I got busy with the power-sander. A short time later, I looked up from my cup of tea and realised this might not turn out too badly after all.

DSC_1016When all the black shit – I know not what it was – came off, the little cupboard grew a personality.  There was an interlude when I got a bit too busy with the power-sander and the bottom piece of wood holding the door up broke off, but what’s a husband for if not to clean up after his wife’s manic sanding experiments?

Then it was time to paint.  As we know, paint is a shit piece of furniture’s best friend. It covers a multitude of sins and can turn something horrible into something you can stand to look at without crying.  I do believe, however, that the trend should be reserved for crap pieces otherwise beyond rescue.  All those people painting over beautiful woodgrain because of fashion are nuts.  Especially if they do stupid shit like two-tone blue and pink and then sand down one layer of paint to display the nonsense.  I have seen more overpriced ruined chests of drawers than I can bear because people think that shit adds value.  Hell no, you just ruined a decent piece of furniture.  What is it with these people?

Sorry – that rant has been inside me for a long time and it needed to come out.  Obviously, I would never paint something pink and blue two-tone. I would simply use whatever left-overs I had available in the garage. Which turned out to be Farrow and Ball New White.

DSC_1017

Of course, every insect for miles around stuck itself in the paint. But progress was made and soon it was time to wax the top.

DSC_1018I was very surprised and pleased with how well this turned out.  You would never guess the top was plywood, or that it cost only around £20 and a few hours of my time.  Check out the sanded and waxed top:

DSC_1019

 

Here it is in situ:

DSC_1020

A full year after K-man accidentally sold our bedside tables on ebay for a song, I finally have a book-drawer and no orange.

That’s our new carpet you can see in the photo.  What a revelation!  More about that another time.

 

 

 

11 Responses to “The Bedside Table”


  1. 1 Jen April 9, 2013 at 12:48 am

    The new table is definitely a huge improvement over the old one. What happens to the orange monstrosity? Bonfire?

  2. 2 Gail April 9, 2013 at 3:41 pm

    Nice! and what an improvement!

  3. 3 staciemarkcoop April 9, 2013 at 4:25 pm

    Lovely! I enjoy your posts about your home improvement projects. Although I’m always left feeling a little guilty about not trying something similar myself.

  4. 4 Jenn @ Juggling Life April 15, 2013 at 1:03 am

    I do admire those of you that will grab a sander and a paintbrush at the drop of a hat! It turned out great.

  5. 5 Roosevelt August 11, 2013 at 5:28 am

    Make sure that you eat plenty of whole grains, fruits, vegetables, and drink plenty of water.
    At present, you can see a wonderful range of products in
    online stores boasting weight loss feature. Treadmill weight
    loss tips, as well as listening to music, watching TV, or talking to a friend next
    to you on a treadmill weight loss workouts in order to avoid
    boredom.

  6. 6 blue black hair dye September 10, 2013 at 5:15 pm

    I’m extremely inspired with your writing abilities and
    also with the structure on your weblog. Is that this a paid topic or did you modify it yourself?
    Either way stay up the excellent quality writing, it is
    uncommon to see a great blog like this one today..

  7. 7 loading... September 30, 2013 at 1:03 am

    They were building their mafias so fast and
    racking up points daily. I’ve sent a few email messages that I later regretted, so I’m sure I’m not the only person who will find this
    feature useful. This is the primary reason I recommend using
    one of these sites especially for those who don’t
    have much tech experience.

  8. 8 diet pills December 4, 2013 at 4:34 pm

    I happen to be commenting to let you be aware of
    of the really good experience my wife’s daughter experienced browsing
    your web page. She learned many pieces, including what it’s like to possess a marvelous giving mood to make other people clearly learn various
    advanced subject areas. You undoubtedly surpassed our own expected results.

    Many thanks for distributing such informative, dependable, edifying and even
    fun guidance on your topic to Janet.

  9. 9 click here December 10, 2013 at 12:08 am

    Greetings! Very helpful advice in this particular post!
    It is the little changes that will make the most significant
    changes. Thanks a lot for sharing!

  10. 10 keramik lantai murah September 19, 2014 at 3:34 am

    Hi! I just wanted to ask if you ever have
    any issues with hackers? My last blog (wordpress) was hacked
    and I ended up losing many months of hard work due to no backup.
    Do you have any solutions to prevent hackers?

  11. 11 Anna January 4, 2015 at 7:02 pm

    Why did you paint the hinges?


Leave a Reply

Twit-2U

Precedent Library

Go here!

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.


