Hibernation

IMG_0514

 

It snowed last week, which is no longer a rare event in this country.  Every year for the last four there has been one decent dump of gentle-sounding white stuff, followed by squeals of indignation as transportation melts down, and an already hellacious one-hour commute becomes a gamble where the prize is three hours trapped in a dark train carriage.  I worked at home for two of the days, which, because I work with highly sensitive information necessitated two senior management approvals, one form-completion, one risk assessment, one secure laptop, a five-meter cable (no WiFi, because that would be a risk) and a bundle of system crashes.

The snow has melted now, and with it Snow Dog.  We created Snow Dog because K-man is desperate for a four-legged friend, but we’re out of the house 50 hours a week at work and it’s just not feasible or fair.  So, we briefly created our own. He doesn’t talk back, or fetch slippers, but he also doesn’t crap on the lawn.  I did consider getting a pile of mud and making an accompanying turd, but this is a Nice Neighbourhood so I restrained myself.

In New Zealand, we built my favourite ever snow-man:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

I have been hibernating from blogging, because life is busy and shit-storms a-brew constantly.  It’s disappointing because there is plenty of source material, but I just can’t find the words.  I would (apparently) rather waste countless hours playing Candy Crush and then accidentally deleting my progress.  What with everything that’s been going on around here lately, that was a disaster blown out of all proportion in my tiny mind.

Snow sculpture – or perhaps art in general – is remarkably therapeutic.  Without even really knowing how, I’m reaching some conclusions about myself, and none of them are very comfortable because all of them seem to necessitate radical amendments to my choices about how I spend my time in this merry-go-round.  I can’t get a particular quotation out of my head.

Instead of wondering where your next vacation is, maybe you ought to set up a life you don’t need to escape from.

– Seth Godin

4 Responses to “Hibernation”


  1. 1 Jonathan February 3, 2013 at 5:06 pm

    I still love that snowman :)

  2. 2 Bella Rum February 3, 2013 at 6:50 pm

    I’m so impressed by your snow sculptures. We are only talented enough to manage the usual and boring three-ball snowman. Ooh, perhaps a three-ball snowman wouldn’t be quite so boring. Our attempts are pathetic, but we do our best to dress our snowmen up in snappy hats and colorful scarves.

  3. 3 staciemarkcoop February 3, 2013 at 11:37 pm

    Love snow dog and the snowman! I can see why you’re a fan of Calvin and Hobbes. You would think with all the snow we have here we could build lots of snowmen, dogs, etc. But most of the time it is too dry and doesn’t stick together.

  4. 4 Jen February 3, 2013 at 11:41 pm

    LOVE the snowdog and snowdude.


Leave a Reply

Twit-2U

Precedent Library

Go here!

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.


