Understudied

Well, Mildreds!  Life as a full time employee trying to impress is certainly harshing my mellow.  I spend approximately 38 hours a week working, and twelve hours travelling.  In between that and sleep I somehow have to squash in two social lives, several hours of catching up on The Voice, and pursuit of my advanced certificate in Lounging.  I’m expected to assist with tedious minutiae like food shopping, meal preparation, gardening, and laundry, but at least I finally cracked and hired a cleaner.  Most days I count myself lucky I’m not responsible for anyone else’s wellbeing. 

And of course there are the many hours I spend patiently tolerating my home being ripped apart around me.  

I hope you’re all well. 

When last we spoke, I had promised photographs of the finished spare room.  I regret to inform you that I am unable to do so at this time.  There are several reasons for this.  

Chief among these is the fact that for reasons I can’t quite fathom, a benevolent spirit hasn’t flown down from the ether and given me an SLR camera.  Instead, I continue to use my iPhone camera to take crappy pictures. 

Another reason is that I have apparently misunderstood something about how and where my iPhone stores pictures, or suffered a memory relapse, or both.  I swear I took some photos of the spare bedroom  several weeks ago when it was freshly finished.  My technological idiocy ate them and belched up a big cloud of zeros.  

Why don’t you just toddle into the spare bedroom and take some more?  I hear you ask.  Well.  WELL.  

I hardly know where to begin.  I think K-man fears a 2013 moratorium on home improvement and so he sprang so swiftly into action that before I could draw breath, the contents of the study had been emptied into the spare room and I was being pressured into choosing paint colours and replacement furniture.  

The content of the study includes no less than 14 years worth of pointless paper that we hadn’t got around to filing or shredding.  There’s no point moving shit back in that you really should throw away, right?  So, the spare room is full of an assortment of paperwork loosely categorised into piles, a superfluous computer table, a deconstructed refectory table, a bin-bag full of shredded paper, and seven million tools K-man insists he can’t put back in the garage yet

But the study is done and ready for its close-up.  It’s a crying shame I don’t have an SLR or know how to use it, but I thought I’d bring you pictures of the study while I still have my sanity. 

As ever, let’s remind ourselves of the journey so far.  

Image

 

This mural from hell is where we began.  

Image

 

The seascape isn’t easy to live with, so we made a temporary fix using what we could forage from the locality. 

Image

 

To the distant eye, this looks OK.  What you can’t see is the cracked ceiling, and the bits of yellow smudge on the woodwork, left-over from the seascape.  We were too lazy to paint the woodwork, and just slapped on paint to cover the worst, knowing that later we would do the job properly.  It was an eyeball-saving emergency situation which required urgent energy.  We lived with this for two years.  

After one weekend and a few evenings of K-man’s effort, we have ended up with this: 

Image

 

I don’t know about you, but I live for grainy images of someone else’s house.  Anyway, the walls are smoothed, the ceiling is re-papered, and the woodwork is painted.  The only shit thing that remains is the cheap laminate floor.  Re-carpeting the house is the next phase.  We bought new furniture from some gent on Ebay.  The filing cabinet takes up much less floor space, and is a 1930s antique tambour-fronted gem.

 Image

 The desk is an old library desk (we think) and it’s perfect for my child, Mac.

Image

The colour on the walls is Farrow & Ball’s Mizzle.  To the naked eye it looks exactly like Light Blue, which we painted the lounge and dining room in.  I’m sure the people at Farrow & Ball could tell the difference, but I can’t.    

Image

 

Now that the giant refectory table is given over to Christmas Family Entertaining Duty (I’ll tell you another time how I came to agree to having everyone here for festive fun), there is enough floor space to open the sofa bed and remain in the room at the same time.  I know!  Revolutionary. 

Of course, it looks quite good now, because there’s still a sizeable mountain of crap in the spare room that needs to be reintroduced into its natural habitat.  I’d like a lamp for the top of the filing cabinet; K-man wants an in-tray to stop us piling all the paperwork that arrives on the kitchen worktop until its centre of gravity becomes too high and it falls over.  I’ve lost count of the important documents and bank cards I’ve called Whatever Company to ask why the hell they haven’t sent, only to discover them months later when we finally deal with the paperwork. 

Newly-decorated studies are like new stationery – a thing of inspiration.  I honestly believe I will now file things instantly, and never lose important paperwork again.  

3 Responses to “Understudied”


  1. 1 Jenn @ Juggling Life November 4, 2012 at 12:17 am

    I love it! I am really good with paperwork. Never look at it twice. Don’t open it until you’re ready to deal with it, but when you do, pay, file, toss.

  2. 2 Bella Rum November 4, 2012 at 5:25 pm

    Looks great. Much better than the fish mural. I keep all paperwork in a basket until I’m ready to deal with it. My husband, however, is fond of little piles all over the place.

  3. 3 all about computers April 25, 2013 at 9:44 am

    Hello, I think your site might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your blog site in Ie, it looks fine but when opening in
    Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping. I
    just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that, fantastic blog!


Leave a Reply

Twit-2U

Precedent Library

Go here!

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.


