Seven Things

There I was, quietly chugging a glass of sarsaparilla, when a thought skewered my brain.

I have a blog.

I have not updated the blog for some considerable time.  Also, in old news from the Department of Wonders Never Cease, a kind reader gave me an award for my tiny corner of the internet.  The award looks like this:

Those two facts rolled themselves around in my head for a moment before the Action! Stations! part of my brain kicked in.

It’s incredibly flattering to be recognised for my intermittent navel-gazing, of course.  It goes without saying that I should not have taken weeks to respond by carrying out the instructions.  It also goes without saying that I am a firm believer that rules are made to be bent to my will, so I’m participating with one small modification that I will get to shortly.

What am I meant to do?

1.  Display the award certificate on my website.  Done.

2.  Announce your win with a post and include a link to whoever presented your award.  Done.  My award was presented by the wonderful Ashley, who blogs at Thirsty Babies about being the mother of three kids, race, social justice, religiosity, and other big picture stuff.  Many, many times reading Ashley’s blog and tweets have I wondered whether we are separate reincarnations of the same spiritual entity.  Ashley is fortunate enough to live in the city of my parents’ upbringing, and one of these days I will get around to visiting my remaining family who live there, and maybe I’ll bump into Ashley at a pre-arranged space and time.  It’s not impossible, especially now I have a full time wage and more annual leave than I know what to do with.

3.   Present seven awards to deserving bloggers.  Create a post linking to them, and drop them a comment to tip them off.  This is my modification.  The truth is that I don’t read many blogs.  Most of the blogs I used to read avidly have pulled up the drawbridge to their castle (Granny Gets A Vibrator, Blogapotamus, As The Tumor Turns).  I love and am inspired by some of the bigger hitters, unconcerned with awards (Margaret and Helen, I Blame the Patriarchy, I Am Bossy).  I love reading, but giving an award to these folks just seems, well, weird.  So, I can’t come up with seven blogs, but some is better than none:

  • Mrs G at Derfwad Manor. I do actually count Mrs G as a big hitter, but we go back, internet-wise, so I’m comfortable.  She is one of the most amazing and inspiring individuals I have ever encountered.  Most of you probably know her already, but in case not, go check her out.  She just completed a road trip around the USA meeting bloggers she has drawn together through her writing.  The word ‘community’ is etched on Mrs G’s heart.
  • Jen on the Edge: Jen blogs about anything and everything, but what initially tuned me in to her blog was her running.  Jen is on an incredible journey to run and eat herself healthy, and she is reaping the many benefits.  She is currently in my Third Spiritual Home, New Zealand.  I’m profoundly jealous.  Head on over and read about the adventures of a family in a camper van!
  • Juggling Jenn: I’ve been a reader of Jenn’s for years.  Recently, I have found her blog particularly inspiring as she has chronicled how she and her family have dealt with her daughter’s eating disorder.  It is compelling and uplifting stuff and through it all, Jenn has remained absolutely thoughtful and full of grace.
  • If I could give the award back to Ashley, I would, but I don’t think that’s permitted.

4.  Post seven interesting facts about myself.  

  • Recently, I battled some fairly unpleasant feelings that had drawn swords in my head.  Ultimately I concluded that if I died tomorrow, I would die happy.  Unless someone killed me.  Then I’d die angry.  I’m going to write about my feeling of fulfilment some other time.  It’s not as morbid as it sounds.
  • I am beyond proud of my family.  My extensive research leads me to believe this is unusual.  My family is the personification of living by your principles.  My parents left the country of their birth rather than have my father fight in a war he didn’t believe in.  If you think that’s cowardly, you have no idea what you’re talking about.  My uncle and aunt were very active in the Chicago civil rights movement of the 1960s, and were rewarded with death threats from nut cases.  Did they stop?  Did they hell.  They were placed on a CIA watch-list.  Did they stop?  Did they hell.  I could bore on at length about how privileged I feel to even speak to these people, let alone actually be related to them.
  • I am 5 feet and 3 inches tall
  • I can ride a horse.  I mean properly ride it, not just sit on it and hope for the best.
  • As a child I lived for a while on what could best be described as a communal hippie living settlement, with a side helping of religion.
  • My eyes make people who are paying close attention think I have Chinese heritage somewhere way back in the dawn of my ancestry.  I don’t: my eyes are almond-shaped because my maternal great-grandmother was Finnish and that eye-shape is a common trait of Northern Europeans (you know Bjork?  My eyes look like hers). The appearance of my eyes used to bother me as a child (it was far more pronounced then) but now I like it.
  • I watch a great deal of Trash Television.  Keeping Up With the KarKrashians, Dawg the Bounty Hunter, you name it, I will sink that low.

Periodically I promise myself I will write more on this blog.  I have a lot to say, and I should start saying it.  I’m going to commit to writing here once a week.   Next week: travel!

 

3 Responses to “Seven Things”


  1. 1 Jenn @ Juggling Life August 16, 2012 at 12:34 am

    What great company and kind words! I love Ashley’s Twitter feed too–she’s always thinking. If you end up in Chicago visiting Ashley, I would surely try to make it to that meeting.

    I think you’re the only other person I’ve met that will admit to watching Dog the Bounty Hunter. Also? I can ride a horse, too.

    Thanks so much.

  2. 2 Jen on the Edge August 19, 2012 at 8:17 am

    Thank you for mentioning my blog. I really appreciate it.

    And, yes, I am back from your Third Spiritual Home and running in my Real Life Home. I missed home, but I also miss Down Under.

  3. 3 mrs. g. August 23, 2012 at 12:23 am

    I am late, but this is quite a compliment coming from you, one of my favorite writers on these here internets. I admire you and your, well, everything.

    Let’s not die before meeting each other in person, ok?


Leave a Reply

Precedent Library

Go here!

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.


