Competency Challenge News

On Wednesday, I soaked in a huge bath of negativity miliseconds after I realised that none of my referees had told me that they had been approached by someone wanting to know about my competence.  The potential employer had made a big deal about the necessity of references, and specifically sought permission to contact them before interview.

On Thursday afternoon, I was in the garden attempting to impose order upon chaos.  I left my phone inside because sometimes I just don’t want to talk to people, and I wasn’t supposed to be receiving any important communication before Friday.

Of course, my potential employer called, and I missed the call.  The voicemail said to please return the call tomorrow.

Tomorrow?

I called back immediately, but got voicemail.

What does it mean?   I asked my parents, and K-man.   Responses enabled me to determine that it could be that

  • they have a query over some documentation (I wasn’t able to provide everything they asked for)
  • I didn’t get the job
  • I got the job

My brain had no choice but to go into hyperdrive.

I’ve never been rejected for a job over the phone (it’s usually an email at 5.30pm), and I’ve never been accepted for a job by email.  K-man has been rejected by phone.  My father has issued rejections over the phone, but only for very senior positions with just a few candidates and where some kind of personal touch is required.

If they were going to reject by phone, and got my voicemail, surely the kind-hearted thing to do would be to leave a voicemail to that effect.  No recruiter wants to hear the reaction when they’re delivering a dream-shattering message.  No candidate wants to give a graceful reaction two seconds after their dreams have been shattered.

If it was about documentation, surely a message with the specific query would have been left.

I dared to think I’d got the job, but I was not about to count my chickens.  Nor was I about to get a decent night’s sleep.

Yesterday, I arrived at work in a froth and called from there  – voicemail.  I am beginning to despise voicemail.  I left a message, and tried to focus on my current job.

Eventually, I connected with the recruiter and yes, I got it! Paperwork is on its way to me and should arrive next week.

Words can’t tell you what this means to me.  It’s the first time I will have had secure, full time, permanent employent since early 2009.  It’s a key point in my life.  The monkey is gone from my back.  I’ve been unsubscribing from job-alert emails, and extricating myself as gracefully as possible from as many unwanted obligations as I can.

Just to have one job and not to have to do an ever-increasing string of things I don’t want to do, usually for free, in case one of those things leads to paid employment?  Amazing.  Not to have to feel constant guilt every time I buy something, or spend ten minutes not thinking about trying to find better employment?  Priceless.

Best of all,  I get to fight injustice and obtain redress on an individual level.  I will be paid a living wage to do so, and have plenty of annual leave, and a decent pension.  I have hit the Job Jackpot.

Wow.  I did it.

10 Responses to “Competency Challenge News”


  1. 1 Gail March 31, 2012 at 12:18 pm

    Yay! and congratulations!!!

  2. 2 staciemarkcoop March 31, 2012 at 3:09 pm

    Congratulations to you! What a grueling process, but I’m so glad it paid off.

  3. 3 unmitigated me April 1, 2012 at 1:10 pm

    Congratulations, Nic! I am so happy for you. When do you start the new gig? And more importantly, are there any wardrobe upgrades that need to happen?

  4. 4 Jen April 2, 2012 at 1:18 am

    Woo hoo! Congratulations!!!

    When do you start?

  5. 5 kellyg April 2, 2012 at 1:23 pm

    I mostly just lurk, but this news required a comment.

    Yay! Congratulations!

  6. 6 Kate in Michigan April 6, 2012 at 3:34 am

    De-lurking, to ask you to be sure to write about your first impressions of the new job, and how it feels to be so amazingly fabulous that you were chosen from roughly 2,317 applicants!

  7. 7 jennatjugglinglife April 6, 2012 at 3:45 am

    So exciting! Congratulations.

  8. 8 Bella Rum April 9, 2012 at 10:54 am

    What an ordeal. Congrats!

  9. 9 Pamela Fisher April 9, 2012 at 6:44 pm

    Congratulations!

  10. 10 Gail April 27, 2012 at 1:42 pm

    I am becoming quite impatient. Surely you have started being competent by now. So enquiring minds want to know, how is the new job?


Leave a Reply

Precedent Library

Go here!

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.


