Reasons to Love London: No. 47

I work in central London.  On my way to work it is not unknown for me to witness the burnt-out shell of a motorbike being doused by fire-fighters.  Ambulances siren their way up and down the major route outside my office window.  Diesel engines in their death throes amble past, all deafening low-frequency noise and very little motion.

And yet a three-minute walk from my office is this lunch-haven.

This is a tiny corner of one of London’s famous park squares.  Check out a map of the city and you’ll see they are all over the place.  Today, while eating my lunch in the centre of one of the busiest cities in the world, I listened to the birds sing their hearts out for 40 minutes.

7 Responses to “Reasons to Love London: No. 47”


  1. 1 Ashley May 6, 2011 at 10:01 pm

    :) It’s just beginning to warm up a bit here, I’m excited to spend lunches and afternoon stress-breaks outside.

  2. 2 Jen on the Edge May 7, 2011 at 2:18 am

    Yet one more reason why I love your city.

  3. 4 Bella Rum May 7, 2011 at 4:55 am

    A little nature goes a long way to lifting my mood. Beautiful.

  4. 5 unmitigated me May 7, 2011 at 1:24 pm

    I SO long to see your city. Someday.

  5. 6 Modern Country Style May 11, 2011 at 1:25 pm

    I’ve just caught up with your blog…and your living room is looking great. The new fireplace completely transforms the space and the F&B looks fab on the walls. I’m sorry about your rubbish-tradesmen palaver. How frustrating? Very.

    Sarahx

  6. 7 Jonathan May 23, 2011 at 9:18 pm

    When I worked in London I loved going exploring at lunchtime. I used to walk through Spittalfiends, and down through Finsbury Park. It was wonderful…


Leave a Reply

Twit-2U

Precedent Library

Go here!

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.


