My Left Foot

Last night, I went to A&E to see a doctor about my foot.  Within two hours I’d been through triage, had a consultation, undergone a foot x-ray, and been given the all clear.  No break!  Thank goodness.

Of course, it still hurts like hell.  I was told that it’s some kind of soft tissue damage, so RICE is on the menu for a week and if it’s not significantly better off I go to my GP.  I don’t have a GP, largely because I despise going to the doctor.  So I follow my dad’s health-plan, which is called ignore it until it’s really bad and you think you might actually die or lose a limb.

Once again, I’ve promised my mother that yes I will register with the doctor.

As with all of my visits to the doctor or hospital, or any encounter with the NHS, I’m reminded how important access to healthcare is.  No, it’s not perfect: there’s no plush leather sofa, the waiting room is a bit dingy, and occasionally it can be a bit complicated.  But it’s there, it (largely) works, and it’s free at the point of need, paid for through general taxation.

6 Responses to “My Left Foot”


  1. 1 lane February 4, 2011 at 5:50 pm

    Wait… what happened?? Hope it heals quickly!

  2. 2 trash February 4, 2011 at 7:33 pm

    Soft Tissue Injury? Bah! RICE is THE best way but still a pain to manage. Presume you are on crutches? Definitely angle for increased sympathy from all.

    Gina Yashere creases me up.

  3. 3 Mrs. G. February 4, 2011 at 11:39 pm

    I am so glad it’s not broken. I prescribe couch rest and episodes of “The Wire”…and extra TLC from the man.

    I did get your email (yay personal correspondence) and will respond when I have time to write rather than dash off lines.

  4. 4 unmitigated me (m.a.w.) February 5, 2011 at 2:35 pm

    Soft tissue injuries are worse to deal with than breaks. I did something similar to my left foot years ago, and it’s never been the same. See the doc anyway, because sometimes fractures don’t appear until after the swelling subsides.

  5. 5 Jen on the Edge February 5, 2011 at 3:14 pm

    I’m glad it’s not broken. Do what the doctor said and follow the RICE plan diligently. DO NOT SNEAK OUT FOR A RUN! :-)

  6. 6 Rima February 7, 2011 at 2:23 am

    I hope you are on the mend soon!


Leave a Reply

Precedent Library

Go here!

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.


