The Unattainable Zen

Once more, with feeling, folks!

I’m straining pretty hard, trying to be simultaneously yogic and buddhist about the latest episode of Rip The House Apart, Series 2: Just After You Put Everything Back Together Again.

We have issues with the underwhelming lumpy finish achieved by the All Purpose Polish Tradesman.  Tomorrow we have to have a conversation about how he’s going to have to redo a chunk of the work he’s done.

The Om to which I aspire is somewhere across the silvery blue expanse between me and an appropriate response.  I try to think soothing forward-looking thoughts of rationality, but all I can muster is a string of disconnected intolerant inaccurate rhetoric.  I’m the Sarah Palin of home improvement.

I’m striving for distraction by thinking about colour, and wondering whether a kind of muted matt eggshell blue-grey will go with our red chairs and chocolate brown sofa.  The hallway will have natural oak flooring, so it’s a blank canvas.  Feel free to chime in with advice!

7 Responses to “The Unattainable Zen”


  1. 1 sue b January 12, 2011 at 1:11 am

    I love giving advice and I’m so rarely invited to do so! I would suggest nothing muted but maybe white walls and pillows in bright patterns–stripes perhaps or large leaves or flowers in a sort of arts-and-crafts design. On the walls, framed fabric or paintings in the same palette of bright colors. Some red-orange-brown combination with a little bright blue, or brown-green (like in your bathroom tile color) again with the bright blue accent and more bright blue things scattered. Muted blue-grey seems too subdued. Perhaps choose colors from some of the places you’ve visited.

  2. 2 Jen on the Edge January 12, 2011 at 2:00 am

    I’d need to see actual paint colors/colours before I could offer an opinion.

  3. 3 Rima January 12, 2011 at 2:50 am

    I really love the combination of grey/blue, chocolate brown and red. We have a dark brown leather sofa and a rug with red tones in it, and we painted our walls a similar color earlier in the year.

  4. 4 Jenn @ Juggling Life January 12, 2011 at 3:41 am

    Hmmm–I’m with Jen. I know I’d love the blue and brown, I’d have to see about the red. You could always do a slipcover for the red if you didn’t like the finished product.

    • 5 nic January 12, 2011 at 9:49 am

      Sue b – I love the idea of bright patterns, but I’d have to wrench K-man into another universe to get him to agree. His middle name might as well be Muted. Eventually when we can afford new curtains I’m making a statement in bold patterns though! Part of the reason I’m thinking of blue grey is that I went to a stately home a few months ago and they had that colour in the library. I found it difficult to walk away I loved it so much.

      It is so hard without seeing actual samples, I know. I’ll get to it in the next couple of weeks. And the blue grey thing is something that would have to be really carefully chosen. It needs to go with the bright red chairs. We have two high-back red leather chairs, and you can see part of the red chair in the bottom right hand corner of the third photo. The flash went a bit wild, but the colour on the arm you can see is fairly representative.

  5. 6 Bella Rum January 12, 2011 at 5:18 pm

    I have no advice but I can’t wait to see your choices. There’s nothing more fun than seeing how someone else designs their home.

  6. 7 Hong Kong hostels August 6, 2014 at 12:26 am

    Just desire to say your article is as astonishing. The clarity in your post iis
    simply excellent and i can assume you aree an expert on this subject.
    Well with your permission allow me to grab your RSS feed
    to keep updated with forhcoming post. Thanjs a million and please carry on the enjoyable work.


Leave a Reply

Precedent Library

Go here!

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.


