Drowning

I’m officially drowning in work this week.  Yesterday I scheduled the afternoon to work on the next draft of my first foray into peer-reviewed academic articles.  I have to do this in my ‘spare’ time as technically it’s outside my job description and the Chief Brain asked me if I wanted to be involved and I couldn’t turn down the opportunity.

Yesterday, the system at work went down.  I mean down.  I couldn’t do a thing.

It would be slightly irritating if this were the first time it had happened that I’d had to work a significant amount of overtime to meet deadlines because of system instability.  It would be quite aggravating if it were the second time.  It would be very annoying if it were the third time.

It’s the fourth time I’ve lost around half a day because the system is creaking and the IT folks don’t have the resources, or don’t know how, to fix it.   Yesterday, I was borderline clinically insane with rage.  If I’d killed a computer I would viably have been able to plead diminished responsibility.

So that’ll be me, on Saturday morning and Sunday, desperately trying to shoe-horn a draft article out of my arse in time to meet the deadline.

Sigh.

0 Responses to “Drowning”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Twit-2U

Precedent Library

Go here!

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.


