Happy Me Day

It’s my 33rd birthday today, and apart from anything else I’m feeling lucky to be alive after yesterday’s narrow escape from a messy vehicular incident.  Usually I don’t like my birthday because I always calculate the gap between where I am, and where I think I ought to be according to the unachievable standard set by my whip-cracking inner self.  This year, for the 10th year running, I consciously decided not to do that.  This year, for the first time, the strategy worked.  It’s revolutionary!

No birthday where one has to toddle off to work is going to be spectacular, so this morning I decided that my approach to the non-work elements of today would be to do whatever I whimsically felt like, and not feel guilty about it.  It’s liberating!

I treated myself to a Gingerbread Latte and a Cinnamon Swirl at Starbucks, two things I’d normally avoid for being too expensive and95% made of lard.  Then I went to my favourite organic cafe for lunch and ate in a leisurely fashion all by myself, while replying to email.

I went slightly bonkers in the book-shop on the way back to the office.  Here’s what I got:

  • Room by Emma Donohue – in hardback! I know!  But I want to participate in Mrs. G’s book club and it’s not out in paperback yet.
  • The Slap by Christos Tsiolkas.  I’ve been wanting to read this ever since I read a review of it months ago.
  • The Year of the Flood by Margaret Atwood because I love her writing, and I love post-apocalyptic novels, so this is a match made in heaven.
  • Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card, on the basis that in the last month it’s cropped up twice on ‘best books’ lists I’ve seen.

Then, on the way back to the office I got a flat white from Sacred because I really wanted one and Kiwi coffee is wonderful.  For the uninitiated, a flat white is half way between a cappuccino and a normal coffee but the milk is even super-smooth-frothy.  I don’t know how they do it but it’s a beautiful experience which I used to have most days in NZ and I miss it.

I also derived a warm inner glow from the many, many birthday wishes from folks across the globe.  Folks I assumed wouldn’t remember.  It’s always nice when that happens.

Now, I’m blogging even though I should be working, and I just don’t care.  Later I’ll have Vietnamese food, my favourite, and go to see a play in the West End with K-man.

Life, enjoyed.

9 Responses to “Happy Me Day”


  1. 1 Jenn @ Juggling Life November 23, 2010 at 7:10 pm

    Happy Birthday!

    And Ender’s Game is quite good. It is Danger’s Boy favorite book ever, so I read it just to know what he loved so much. I also like Orson Scott Card’s non-sci/fi books.

  2. 3 kellyg November 23, 2010 at 7:41 pm

    Happy Birthday! I’m so glad you made it to 33. Sounds like you are having a wonderful day. I like the way you celebrate. It would be a perfect day for me too. Except for the Vietnamese food, but to each their own.

    I read yesterday’s harrowing account and thought that had you been hit, the title of your blog would take on a whole new meaning.

  3. 4 clay ball November 23, 2010 at 10:01 pm

    Happy b-day! Keep enjoying! :)

  4. 5 Lane November 24, 2010 at 7:36 am

    We’re in Portland right now but I’ve been thinking of you! I’m so glad you had a wonderful birthday. Here’s to many more! xoxo

  5. 6 Stacie November 24, 2010 at 10:43 am

    Sounds like a wonderful birthday to me!

  6. 7 unmitigated me (m.a.w.) November 24, 2010 at 4:05 pm

    Ender’s Game is an amazing book. There’s a whole series built around it, but I have only read the first, thinking that the magic can’t possibly be captured again.

    I am looking out for Room, too, maybe I’ll get a Kindle gift card for Christmas!

  7. 8 Jen on the Edge November 24, 2010 at 6:15 pm

    I’m glad you had such a nice birthday!

    Here in my house, my birthday is known as National Jen Day and I always take the day off from work and do whatever I want. My husband makes my favorite dinner (sauteed scallops on a bed of angel hair pasta) and I take care of only the most essential chores.

  8. 9 Mrs. G. November 28, 2010 at 3:21 am

    Happy 33. You are such a baby. I am sorry that I am late in my well wishes. I’ve been preoccupied with family and alcoholism (my own).

    I hope you have many more birthdays, the world would shine less without you, your wit and bleeding heart!

    Love, Heather


Leave a Reply

Twit-2U

Precedent Library

Go here!

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.


