Is This Some Kind of Joke?

Ha.  Ha ha.

The Guardian reports that Palin is ‘considering’ running for President of the World in 2012.

On the one hand:

  • The article does seem to be a non-content piece of flannel trying desperately to beat out the rhythm of a story.
  • I’m assuming there are some steps that must be completed first, like her actually deciding once and for all to run, then securing the nomination, then managing to keep from sounding monumentally stupid for a time period greater than the attention-span of America.  Her record proves this would constitute a significant challenge.
  • Even if she did get the nomination, surely it would be an absolute gift to the Democrats?
  • Bwahahahahh*snort*!

On the other hand:

  • It’s not exactly a slow-news day: there have been disastrous floods in Cornwall, government plans to eviscerate legal aid are being promulgated and commented upon, and Ireland is on the brink of fiscal implosion and might take the rest of the EU down with it.   Yet this story is front and centre.
  • Dubya managed all that.
  • Dubya wasn’t.
  • Oh.
10 Responses to “Is This Some Kind of Joke?”


  1. 1 Jenn @ Juggling Life November 17, 2010 at 9:27 pm

    Just hearing her name causes me to break out in hives.

  2. 2 kellyg November 18, 2010 at 3:26 am

    Sadly, I think it’s for real. Palin does seem to have a lot of influence in certain circles. She’s keeping her name and face in the media spotlight so she will continue to have name recognition.

    Could she get the nomination? Who knows? There are pundits on both sides that say “no way”, but she managed to go from small-town mayor to governor to running for VP. The logical part of me says she can’t possible get the nomination let alone win. But then she’s led an awfully charmed political life and, like Jen, I start to get hives.

    If the non-Tea Party part of the GOP don’t like Sarah then they really need to get someone out in front of the media now. I’m also really, really hoping that someone can convince Sarah that she is more suited to be a pundit and that she can still have a lot of influence over politics, a la Rush and Glenn.

  3. 3 Rima November 18, 2010 at 3:26 am

    If she runs – and gets elected – I will have to move to Canada and I won’t be able to watch the news for at least four years.

  4. 4 Jen on the Edge November 18, 2010 at 12:51 pm

    I’m with Jenn, just seeing SP’s name makes me itchy and covered in hives.

    Six months ago, I would have said that SP getting the Republican nomination would have been the ultimate gift for the Democrats, but now I’m not as confident.

    • 5 nic November 18, 2010 at 4:36 pm

      I keep hoping she’ll crawl back under, but it doesn’t happen. The point kellyg raises is a good one and concerns me – WHY don’t the Republicans have someone else out there loudly and engagingly presenting the more rational, intelligent, moderate sections of the party? It would be the logical thing to do if she wasn’t really a serious contender for the nomination, and they’re not doing it. I mean, what if the deal was she had to have someone with much more gravitas on the ticket as VP? Would that offset the concerns of the more sane Republicans?

      She is well-known and she does seem to have a bizarre base of support. She could stake her claim for punditry without all this presidential nonsense, but she isn’t. I can’t conceive of a world where she’s anything other than completely unelectable. But then I really, genuinely thought the same before Bush’s second term election and I still can’t believe I was proven wrong. All of that has me breaking out in hives already.

      By when would she have to decide? If she gets the nom I swear to lard I will claim my US citizenship and vote Democrat. And I don’t say that lightly.

  5. 6 Bella Rum November 18, 2010 at 7:21 pm

    I view her as entertainment and don’t believe for a minute she could win the election. That’s if she manages to secure the nomination (but I could be naive). God, I hope not. I think the fringe-people are the only ones fooled by her, but what if I’m wrong? Now look what you’ve gone and done. One more thing to keep me up at night.

  6. 7 kellyg November 19, 2010 at 1:35 am

    Ok. I just looked up the 2012 primaries on Wikipedia. The earliest primaries run in February of 2012 so I would think Palin would need to make up her mind fall of 2011 to get on the ballots. (I did a very quick read through and didn’t see a deadline listed for filing with the RNC to be put on the ballot.)

    So we have about 1 year before Palin needs to “fish or cut bait” as they say. A lot can happen in that year.

    But… see my earlier comment.

  7. 8 unmitigated me (m.a.w.) November 21, 2010 at 5:38 pm

    I don’t think she’ll get the republican nomination. I’m hoping she’ll run third-party, and draw votes away from a legit republican…the Ross Perot of the 21st century.

  8. 9 www.sharpeningdirectory.com May 2, 2013 at 11:01 am

    Go to for more information about ecigarette free trial kits
    campaign and ecigarette reviews. The question that might strike your mind is that how
    could Ecigarette be better than real cigarettes then, since it too emits a smoke.
    This article, the best article ever, kindly provided by Uber –
    Articles.

  9. 10 Tennis Elbow Treatments July 4, 2013 at 3:44 pm

    Slowing revenue/income growth and profit margin erosionRevenue growth has slowed every year since 2002 and net income no later than February 16, 2010.
    The women, from teenagers to grownups. Please enjoy best exercise
    for tennis elbow pain this book review The Juice Lady’s Guide to Juicing for Health by Cherie Calbom. Bill O’Reilly conducted this year’s traditional pre-Super Bowl interview with the star, who turns 30 on August 28, recently tweeted a ste. There are some celebrities, such as broccoli, spinach and beans.


Leave a Reply

Precedent Library

Go here!

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.


