Normal Sporadic Broadcasting Is Interrupted…

…to bring you my participation in National Blog Posting Month.  I’ll be posting every day for the month of November.  I won’t be able to craft anything interesting or worthwhile every day.  Today is one of those days, so I’ll just let you know that after 31 years of deliberation, I concluded that my favourite season is autumn.

Taken by me, 31 October 2010.

Indecisiveness ended last autumn, which was my first year back in the UK after missing three autumns living in New Zealand.  Autumn does take place in New Zealand but it’s more of technicality.   Especially where I was, in Wellington.  It’s a short hop from bright sunny days to bone-chilling antarctic blasts, and in between there’s some mist and penetrating damp.  The foliage is predominantly evergreen.

I didn’t even realise I missed the crisp, dry, cool days of autumn in the UK until I got back.  It hit me like a thunderbolt: winter is too cold unless you never have to go outside, and I don’t do well with heat unless I’m enjoying it from a sun-lounger in the garden rather than having to drip sweat through the no-aircon delights London’s transport system to sit in a similarly roasting office for eight hours.  Spring is bearable and interesting but in a kind of ‘rest of the year too’ green way, visually speaking.

Autumn is perfect.  It’s cool but not too cold, there are blustery arse-kicking days but they are interspersed with gently sunny ones.  The days are shorter and cooler but the light isn’t beginning to fade at 2.45pm as it does in deep winter.  The trees turn amazing colours, while wild-life busies itself with preparing for the big sleep and so do I.

I love it.

What’s your favourite season?

Are you participating in NaBloPoMo?  Let’s hope we don’t get to the point where I’m describing what I had for lunch.

9 Responses to “Normal Sporadic Broadcasting Is Interrupted…”


  1. 1 Jenn @ Juggling Life November 2, 2010 at 8:11 pm

    I think I would be an autumn person if I lived in your parts, but I’m fond of the 9-month summer we have in San Diego–it’s what I grew up with.

  2. 2 trash November 2, 2010 at 9:28 pm

    thank goodness you outlined the acronym – I have been reading NaBloPoMo on blogs all over the place but had no idea what it was.

    Good luck with lasting the month, I have just finished a fairly sporadic effort for Tinniegirl’s Blogtoberfest.

  3. 3 Jonathan November 2, 2010 at 10:04 pm

    What about the autumn days when it’s wet, muddy, dreary, and basically seems like an army of Dementors lurk around every corner ?

  4. 4 Jen on the Edge November 3, 2010 at 1:05 am

    Fall is my favorite. Always has been. Except, perhaps for the two falls where I had a newborn child and was a hormonal, exhausted, weepy mess.

  5. 5 Gail November 3, 2010 at 1:45 pm

    Oh, what a gorgeous photo! I like the beginning of autumn, but it does forebode the approach of winter, which I’m not real happy about. We had snow here last week. Fortunately it didn’t last too long.

  6. 6 unmitigated me (m.a.w.) November 3, 2010 at 2:20 pm

    Love autumn and spring, tolerate summer, hate winter with a deep and abiding hatred. Perhaps Michigan is not the best place? I think I just need to winter elsewhere…like Florida.

  7. 7 Stacie November 3, 2010 at 3:30 pm

    I have always loved autumn too, not only because my birthday takes place in this glorious season, but because, after the seemingly endless Texas summers, there is sweet relief. Natural air conditioning. And that is why, at this time of year here in Angola, I get depressed and miss home. Because it’s heating up here, since the seasons are reversed.

    Gorgeous photo! BTW, I’m not participating in the month-long daily blog fest, but you go for it.

  8. 8 Aunt Snow (g) November 4, 2010 at 2:33 pm

    Oh, is it NaBloPoMo? I will go check in!


  1. 1 Recline and Lament « lifesmudged Trackback on September 20, 2011 at 11:12 am

Leave a Reply

Precedent Library

Go here!

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.


