Monday Morning Fitness Blogging: Cool Runnings

Running is not my preferred activity.   This week, it was my only physical activity apart from housework.  Yes, housework counts when you’ve got a house covered in plaster-dust and two hours before guests arrive.

I’m starting to hate it.  Last Monday I ran 3 miles, on Thursday I ran 4.5, and on Saturday I ran 6.66 miles.   I vary my route and my soundtrack as much as I can but it the essential tedium of the activity is starting to bite.

It does get me out into the community, though.  I rate the hounds out for their walks on a scale of cuteness.  I’m really getting to know the pavement-cracks in my area.  And this week, on the way out for my 4.5 miler I passed a house with a bucket full of windfall Bramley apples and a sign asking passers-by to help themselves.  I diverted my return route to go back past the house on my way home, and scored enough apples to make a decent crumble for Sunday lunch.

The weather is cooling off nicely now, which means  I don’t have to worry about becoming a shade of purple usually reserved for a packet of Silk Cut.  However, to keep warm I do have to wear my ludicrous high-visibility breathable running jacket.  I can’t wait for the first time it’s properly raining during my scheduled training time.

Less than a month until the 10-mile race.

4 Responses to “Monday Morning Fitness Blogging: Cool Runnings”


  1. 1 Jen on the Edge September 27, 2010 at 2:15 pm

    Have you tried varying your running routes to help with the tedium? I’ve been doing that recently and since I get to explore new neighborhoods, gawking at other people’s houses helps take my mind off my labors.

  2. 2 Stacie September 27, 2010 at 2:29 pm

    I admire you for your goal of training for the race. I’m sure you’ve already thought of listening to podcasts and/or a book on your ipod. But just in case you haven’t. I myself can’t stand running, it bores me to tears. The only place I like to run is on the tennis court. But good luck to you!

  3. 3 Jenn @ Juggling Life September 28, 2010 at 1:52 am

    You doubled your mileage in less than a week–I’m seriously impressed!

  4. 4 Jonathan September 28, 2010 at 11:59 am

    Seriously impressed with the distance you’re already running – mind you don’t hurt yourself!

    I need to get back into running – spending far too many hours sat on my backside at the moment…


Leave a Reply

Precedent Library

Go here!

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.


