Thunder-Bolt of the Day

Much overly-generalised bile is written or spoken complaining about the youth of today, and their hoodie-wearing ASBO-attracting manner of behaviour.  Whenever this bile crosses my merry path, I become instantly defensive.

Today, I asked myself why I am driven to these immediate blood-pressure increases, with accompanying verbal spasms about equality of opportunity, the intellectual laziness and knee-jerk nature of generalisation (for every criminal youth there are hundreds of delightful young people, and a hoodie alone does not a criminal make), and not believing or extrapolating from everything one hears from the used tissue paper that passes for most  media outlets.  I know some very unpleasant older people.  In fact, I was assaulted by a headscarf-wearing little old lady a few weeks ago.  She shoved me as I was gently perambulating past.

The answer is that of course I am defensive, because I consider myself part of the youth of today, and am thus personally insulted when I hear such bollocks being propounded.

I am 32 and 3/4.

It is, of course, no bad thing that I’m defensive in response to the maltreatment meted out to young people.  However, at this point in my life I need to acknowledge that I should be defensive on behalf of them rather than because I am being directly maligned.

It’s a shocking realisation.

4 Responses to “Thunder-Bolt of the Day”


  1. 1 Jenn @ Juggling Life September 23, 2010 at 2:43 pm

    I think you’re right–even if 32 is the new 22 you’re still safely ensconced in adulthood.

    Why do people never seem to see all the wonderful qualities many young people have?

  2. 2 Jonathan September 23, 2010 at 2:59 pm

    In my opinion (which doesn’t count for much), of the social interactions I have had that turned nasty, by far the most common culprits are old people (70+). Words that come to mind are selfish, unthinking, deliberately ignorant, rude, obnoxious, greedy, and self serving.

    Of any people I see cycling on the path, 80% of the time it’s old people. They also wear no bike helmets.

    Hmmm… reading back over my comment, I’m wondering if this is a festering chip on my shoulder about people who don’t follow “the rules” that the rest of expect others to…

    Don’t even get me started about old people on trains – that make sure they stand at the door first, and then walk along the platform at 1/2 a mile an hour with several hundred commuters stuck behind them…

  3. 3 unmitigated me September 23, 2010 at 8:31 pm

    Nearly all of my unpleasant encounters are with middle-aged or older women. A group to which I belong. *sigh*

  4. 4 Stacie September 24, 2010 at 8:07 am

    Great post – I agree with you. My teenage son owns a hoodie, and he’s one of the best people I know. I couldn’t be prouder of him and of the choices he makes.

    BTW, I’ve got you beat by a decade.


Leave a Reply

Twit-2U

Precedent Library

Go here!

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.


