Sunday Night Fitness-Blogging: Week 1

I’m struggling.  I referred back to my guru, Mistress Krista, who within three sentences usually has me shouting yes! Fitness! Bring it, mofo’s!   Still, this morning I found it nearly impossible to raise up from the prone position, and force myself into the gym.  What do I need?  I need accountability.  Welcome to this new feature where I write down what I’ve done and in the act of doing so, recognise progress or back-sliding.

I’m a visually-motivated progress-whore.  I don’t weigh myself, so I try to deduce progress from an unscientific combination of how stuff feels, and how stuff looks.  Behold:

This is a really dreadful photograph of my left arm, but don’t let that distract you from the purpose at hand: you’re looking at my progress benchmark.  The less said about the current state of my bingo-wings, the better.  And what the hell was I doing with the camera?  Just be grateful you can’t see much of my hair: it’s the un-brushed barnet of a person who spent hours picking blackberries in the Triffid-patch, and hacking away at five grape-vines.

So.  This week’s fitness update.  If you feel like joining in, I’d love to read what some of you have been doing.   Share your successes!  It doesn’t need to be gym-based: a big hill reduced me to tears once.  I do not jest.

Tuesday:

I’ve forgotten how long the total duration was, but I unleashed some intervals on myself.  I cranked the treadmill up to 12.5kmph for one-minute periods with two minutes walking at 6kmph in between.  I think I managed seven or eight of the evil dashes, and then I ran for five minutes at 10kmph.  I didn’t feel like throwing up, so that’s progress.

I was in the gym at 3.30pm (unusual, but it was after getting home from K-man’s injection) and I expected it to be empty.  I was wrong.  Who are all these meatheads who don’t re-stack the free-weights, and why aren’t they at work?  One day I am going to break an ankle on a dumbell that’s in the middle of the floor.  There weren’t any benches free (because if you’re a meat-head you have to take 3 minutes’ rest between sets of lifting).  I steamed over to the barbell rack and found that someone had been huffing and puffing using the really light barbell rather than the Olympic one that weights 20kg by itself.  I had to swap it over, and then I noticed I was being stared at.

THIS is why I think all gyms should have women-only free-weights sessions: either you can’t get on a bench because groups of meat-heads are ‘working out’ together (read: chatting while leaning over a bench) or you have to get stared at.  Well, fuck them and the horse they rode in on.  I warmed up with the 20kg bar and then loaded up another 5kg for a couple of sets of eight.  I didn’t ache the next day: it’s easier to lift a barbell than dumbells.  I did a couple of sets of bent-over rows with the 10kg dumbells, a couple of 60-second planks, and a couple sets of split-leg squats.

Friday:

I ran 25 minutes at 9.6kmph and it felt almost good.  This was especially surprising because I’d had three glasses of wine the previous night and smoked four cigarettes that I can remember.  I know!  Must give up smoking.  I bench-pressed the 10kg dumbells for 2 sets of 12, then the same for dumbell rows.  I did normal squats, bodyweight, for two sets of 10.  I did a couple of planks, and some half-hearted sit-ups.

And on Saturday, my thighs hurt.  I’m going to have to go up to three sets of ten unweighted squats on my lighter running days.  Also, I think those dumbells really need to go up to 12kg even though that scares me a little bit.

Sunday:

Today, I ran 40 minutes at 9.6kmph and that, my friends, is 4 miles.  I’m pleased!  I felt bad for dripping sweat from my arms onto the treadmill, but I’m seeing real progress from where I was just two weeks ago.  I had one of those isotonic drinks, and they do help.  But they’re molto expensivo.  My friend Tall told me you can make your own for nearly-free from water, salt, and Ribena: I’m going to google it.

I didn’t have time to tack on any weights before I needed to get home to shower and welcome our lunch-guests, but who cares?!  I ran four miles.

9 Responses to “Sunday Night Fitness-Blogging: Week 1”


  1. 1 unmitigated me (m.a.w.) August 9, 2010 at 12:28 am

    This poor ‘Merican reads those metric numbers, and you may as well have said you ran to the moon and back. I would have believed you. I have great biceps, almost totally hidden by Hoppy and Bob, the ungainly bags o’ fat that troll below my upper arms.

  2. 2 Jenn @ Juggling Life August 9, 2010 at 5:03 am

    Those arms would be my “after” picture.

  3. 3 Naomi B. August 9, 2010 at 11:59 am

    You rock! Also, you intimidate me. But also, you are inspiring. For saying you feel all jiggly and unmotivated, you are on fire and, when you can see the definition in your arms like that and then complain about bingo wings you make some of us want to cry.
    I am visiting my family 800 miles away for Thanksgiving. It is motivation to start fresh and get to it. I didn’t “work out” this last week, but I painted two porches by myself and began work on the walkway. That would be lots of squats and some lifting in there.

  4. 4 Suzanne August 10, 2010 at 12:36 am

    I knew you’d get back into the groove more quickly than you believed possible. You’re setting a great example and all, but also putting some of the rest of us to shame…

    I made it to Zumba twice, in addition to my weekly Pilates session, but I skipped yoga, again. I DID find a new massage therapist, and had my first therapy session since late April, however. She also does acupuncture, and I stood up to the anxiety caused by my needle-phobia and tried acupuncture for the first time EVER! So, that counts for something in my book.

  5. 5 Denise August 10, 2010 at 5:12 am

    I always have loved your insight and sense of humor but it just escalated… red wine and smokes and you still exercise – I thought I was the only one. Want to be BFFs??? :)

    • 6 nic August 10, 2010 at 10:36 am

      @ unmitigated: good point! From now on I’ll do the conversions so y’all can tell what I’m saying. For now, I just worked out that 10kg = 22lb.

      @ Jenn: hey, it’s everyone’s individual journey. If you can kayak further this week than you did last week, it’s all good.

      @ Naomi: thanks! I definitely (definitely!) never intend to intimidate anyone. It sounds like you have plenty of home improvements to challenge your fitness and strength – painting is HARD!

      @ Denise: thanks! I thought I was the only one too! For me, a decent work-out is the most effective hang-over cure. I’ve definitely got to step away from my pack of Marlborough Lights for good though. I’m a casual smoker but on certain nights I can get through ten. Still, that’s progress from my old 20-a-day habit!

  6. 7 Mrs. G. August 10, 2010 at 5:32 pm

    Nice guns, Chica. I’m still on my three day a week workout routine but this past month I have been hampering my success with way too much emotional eating…I suppose I’ll tackle this when my boy goes back to school in two weeks–no more excuses to make midday cookies!

  7. 8 Jonathan August 15, 2010 at 11:29 am

    Oh stop being down on yourself – you rock :)

  8. 9 Ashley Trowell August 18, 2010 at 4:26 am

    lol,I have a dream to ride a bicycle across the country.


Leave a Reply

Twit-2U

Precedent Library

Go here!

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.


